The Research Council of Norway (RCN)

Contact: Lillian Margrethe Baltzrud

Network Board Member: Marianne Jensen


The Research Council of Norway has national responsibility for ensuring a high level of expertise in all research areas through support for focused research programmes, for researcher-oriented projects and basic grants for the institute sector. The activities of the Research Council are administered under the auspices of four research divisions: Division for Science,  Division for Energy, Resources and the Environment,  Division for Society and Health and Division for Innovation. Department for Humanities and Social Sciences has strategic responsibility for the academic development of the social sciences and for recruitment to the field, and Department for Welfare and Education runs research programmes within Social Sciences.